Skip To Content

Ottawa Arts Council reveals the 2021 Arts Award recipients

By Greggory Clark on April 22, 2021


Every year since 1988, the Ottawa Arts Council pays tribute to local artists, arts leaders and community supporters through the Arts Awards program. Today, co-hosts Antoine L. Collins and Nicole Milne announced the recipients in a streaming video presentation celebrating exceptional artists in our community. This year’s laureates included music industry educator Colin Mills, multidisciplinary artist Claudia Salguero, and songwriter/musician Amanda Lowe Warnakulasuriya.

Each year, the Ottawa Arts Council places a call out to the greater arts community to secure nominations for six awards: the Victor Tolgesy Award, which recognizes the accomplishments of residents who have contributed substantially to enriching cultural life in our city; the Peter Honeywell Mid-Career Artist Award, recognizing and encouraging the achievements of Ottawa artists of all disciplines who have evolved beyond the emerging stage in their career to become recognized professional working artists contributing to the community; the Emerging Artist Award, which, starting this year, recognizes the achievements of artists of all disciplines from Ottawa’s IBPoC (Indigenous, Black, and Persons of Colour) communities who are in the early stages of their career in the arts and are working towards becoming recognized professional artists; and the Project X Photography Award designed to recognize the merits of a publicly presented photographic project by an Ottawa-based artist.

The 2021 Arts Awards Recipients:

Victor Tolgesy Award
Colin Mills, music industry executive

Peter Honeywell Mid-Career Artist Award
Claudia Salguero, multidisciplinary artist
*Finalist: Lucas Haneman, musician
*Finalist: Guillermo Trejo, printmaker artist

Emerging Artist Award
Amanda Lowe Warnakulasuriya, musician
*Finalist: Kathryn Patricia Cobbler, musician
*Finalist: Namitha Rathinappillai, spoken word poet

Project X, Photography Award
Joyce Crago, photographer
*Honourable Mention: Elizabeth Raymer Griffin, photographer
*Honourable Mention: Katherine Takpannie, photographer

Corel Endowment for the Arts Award
Christine Mockett, fibre sculptor

Young Artist Award
Dana Van Loon, visual artist