Skip To Content

SAW Gallery announces winners of the SAW Prize for New Works

By Apartment613 on November 2, 2020

25 artists in Ottawa-Gatineau have earned the inaugural SAW Prize for New Works.

Artists and makers from Ottawa-Gatineau and the surrounding First Nations were invited to submit their applications for this production program, which will lead to public presentations at SAW in 2021.

When SAW reopens to the public, the winners will gain access to the centre’s various spaces for rehearsals and testing out new ideas, including its exhibition spaces, the Nordic Lab screenprinting and production studios, and the Club SAW performance venue.

The SAW Prize is geared toward artists who wish to expand their practice and explore new ideas during an extended period. This program is a rare opportunity for local artists to create new works with financial and organizational support. The winners each receive an artist fee of $1,500, a contribution of $500 toward equipment and/or materials, and access to SAW staff and office resources, including technical assistance. The winners have a period of six months to complete their projects.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Galerie SAW Gallery (@galeriesawgallery) on

The complete list of recipients (A-Z):

  • Shahla Bahrami
  • Adam Barbu
  • Atticus Campbell Gordon
  • Liz Clarke
  • Pierre-Luc Clément
  • Craig Commanda
  • Michael Davidge
  • Kenneth Emig
  • Adrianna Exposée
  • Marisa Gallemit
  • Dimitri Georgaras
  • Claudia Gutierrez
  • Shaya Ishaq
  • Rachel Kalpana James
  • Don Kwan
  • Yolande Laroche
  • Shelby Lisk
  • Sam Loewen
  • Troy Lovegates
  • Feza Lugoma
  • Jennifer McMaster
  • Mélanie Myers
  • Nneka Nnagbo
  • Kosisochukwu Nnebe
  • Morris Ogbowu
  • Michèle Provost
  • Saffron St. James
  • Katherine Takpannie
  • Guillermo Trejo
  • Andi Vicente
  • Linsey Wellman