Skip To Content
Andrew Cassara is nominated for three awards including Artist and Album of the Year.

Introducing the Capital Music Award finalists in every category—watch on May 7

By Greggory Clark on April 28, 2021




The second annual Capital Music Awards will celebrate locally-made music this May 7, and the award finalists were announced today. Congrats to all the finalists and nominees!

Ottawa music acts in the running include Night Lovell, Tiagz, DRAE, Andrew Cassara, Céleste Lévis, Marie-Clo, Paragon Cause, Harea Band, Jessica Pearson & The East Wind, Jean Cloutier, The PepTides, Asuquomo, and Moonfruits.

Bilingual songwriter Céleste Lévis stands out with four nominations spanning Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, Best Production and Arrangements, and Virtual Performance of the Year. Night Lovell, Tiagz, Andrew Cassara and Marie-Clo follow closely behind with three nominations each, with an outstanding two nominations each for Tiagz and Night Lovell in Single of the Year. Also nominated in multiple categories, synth rock band Paragon Cause is up for both Album of the Year and Group of the Year.

The awards show recognizes artists and members of the community who contribute to Ottawa’s music scene. This second edition of the awards will showcase some of the most exciting talent in the city with five exclusive pre-recorded performances. Artists performing in the virtual gala show will include The Commotions, LeFLOFRANCO, Baëbe Ruth, Céleste Lévis, and JW-Jones.

Organizers of the awards, the Ottawa Music Industry Coalition, say their jury received more than 200 nominations. These were reviewed by 26 music industry jurors across Ontario, who short-listed the finalists for all categories. The winners for Artist, Group, Album, Best Production, and the Impact Award will be determined by jury alone. Members of the public voted for the winners of Single, Video, and Virtual Performance of the Year.

The awards results will be aired in on Friday, May 7 at 8pm. This one-hour special will broadcast on RogersTV (channel 22 in Ottawa) and streaming via YouTube. RSVP for the YouTube Watch Party here.

The Finalists

Album of the Year

Alignments – Double Experience
Freak on Repeat (Deluxe) – Andrew Cassara
Noël tout autour – Céleste Lévis
Shell(e) – Marie-Clo
What We Started – Paragon Cause

Artist of the Year

Andrew Cassara
Céleste Lévis
Night Lovell

Group of the Year

Double Experience
Harea Band
Jessica Pearson and the East Wind
Paragon Cause

Best Production and Arrangements

Brazz – Rachel Beausoleil
Freak on Repeat (Deluxe) – Andrew Cassara
Hannah-Carillon – Jean Cloutier
Noël tout autour – Céleste Lévis
The Next Best Thing – Graham Lindsey
This Is It… This Is the End. – The Great Diversion

Impact Award

Danah-Lee Krieger – More Than A Song Studios
Nathan Gravelle – CapCityHipHop
Ottawa Experimental Music
Shawn, Emily and Dave – The Silver Lining Sessions
Wise Atangana – AfroBlack Cultural Centre

Single of the Year

“Alone” – Night Lovell
“A Lot” – Night Lovell, FTG Reggie and Lindasson
“Hood Cry” – TwoTiime
“My Heart Went Oops” – Tiagz
“They Call Me Tiago (Her Name is Margo)” – Tiagz

Video of the Year

“At Ease” – Marie-Clo
“Invaders” – The PepTides
“Joker” – Dax
“Les Marins” – Moonfruits
“Scared” – Asuquomo

Virtual Performance of the Year

Afroworld Fest – Equal Chance
Canada Performs – Anna Ludlow
Kemptville Live Music Festival – The Angelina Hunter Trio
Le Méga Excentrique – Les Rats d’Swompe
Session Live Officielle Complet – Céleste Lévis

The Capital Music Awards show will be broadcast at 8pm on May 7, 2021. Watch online via YouTube or Rogers TV channel 22 on local cable. RSVP for the YouTube Watch Party here. Visit for more information.