Skip To Content

Le Groupe Swing sweeps inaugural Capital Music Awards

By Greggory Clark on March 13, 2020

In a ceremony at Club SAW last night, March 12th, Ottawa music industry leaders presented Anna Ludlow, Byron Pascoe, Jasmine Trails, Spitten Image, and Le Groupe Swing with the inaugural Capital Music Awards. Attendees at the free party saw LGS take home the most awards, including Band of the Year.

Interestingly, there was a tie for Song of the Year between LGS—who after 20 great years went on a farewell tour in 2019—and Jasmine Trails, the Ottawa-born songwriter now living in Montreal.

Organized by the Ottawa Music Industry Coalition for the first time in 2020, the Capital Music Awards recognize artists and members of the community who contribute to Ottawa’s diverse music scene.

Open nominations got whittled down to a short list by jury, which then put the final decision to a private ballot of OMIC members. Only Entertainer of the Year was determined by public voting.

The eligibility period for all awards was between August 1, 2018 and September 1, 2019.

Capital Music Awards 2020

Impact Award
Byron Pascoe

Song of the Year
Le Group Swing


Song of the Year
“Alive and Well”
Jasmine Trails

Solo/Duo of the Year
Anna Ludlow

Band of the Year
Le Group Swing

Entertainer of the Year
Spitten Image

Video of the Year
“On perd la tête”
Le Group Swing